MISA Bursary

MISA Bursary Programme

The Municipal Infrastructure Support Agent (MISA) is a component of the Dept of Cooperative Governance established in terms of Section 7(2) Schedule 3 of the Public Service Act of 1994 which was last amended in 1994 and also as per terms of the Gazette No 36634-2013, established to build technical capacity of municipalities to follow  efficient levels of plan-ing, delivery, operations and management of municipal infrastructure amongst other functions.

MISA bursary is for undergraduate academic studies for the National Diploma or Bachelor degree in the Civil engineering, Electrical engineering and Geographical Information Systems field of study. MISA is always striving to become excellent in the area of service delivery but also skills development. Whilst the programme is not exclusively limited to individuals from previously disadvantaged communities, MISA
strives for excellence in the context of the development of a career path of Built Environment qualified professionals  to improve service delivery and to also encourages historically disadvantaged applicants to request assistance. MISA is an equal opportunity employer and will give preference to qualifying candidates from home that have a combination of total yearly income of R120 000 or no option of earning & demand historically disadvantaged students to submit applications.

Who Must Apply for MISA Bursary Opportunity?

Applicants who are on grade 12 and also meet the minimum application requirements, qualifying student applicants in their first, second, third or forth year of enrollment; Applicants must be South African citizens. Applicants must have already been enrolled or eligible for enrolment with the relevant tertiary institution.

MISA Bursaries Requirements

Applicants must be Matriculants with a C Symbol in Mathematics and Physical Science and already
enrolled/ admitted for enrolment by the relevant university

Enquiries: Mr Reginald Legoabe, Telephone number 011-100 3123 or Ms. Nobuhle Latha on Telephone number 011-100 3129
Bursary application form can be downloaded from www.cogta.gov.za but may also be requested through email at
misacapacitybuilding@misa.gov.za or at the following MISA/ Provincial Cogta offices:-
Gauteng: Municipal Infrastructure Support personnel, in Letaba House, Riverside Office Park,1303 Heuwel by Avenue, in Centurion 0046.

Contact personnel Ms. Nobuhle Latha Tel 011-100-3123
Eastern Cape: Department of Local Government, in Global Life Building, Municipal Infrastructure Offices (opposite Department of the Traditional Affairs, Phalo Avenue, Bhisho. Contact personnel Mr Tshitso Majavu Tel (040) 609 3340

Kwazulu Natal: Department of Local Government and Traditional Affairs, 5th Floor Southern Life Plaza Building, 271 Church Street, Pietermaritzburg. Contact personnel Mr Sibusiso Mkhize Tel (033) 355 6560

North West: Department of Developmental and Local Government and Traditional Affairs, University Drive, Garona Building Office 815, West Wing, Second Floor,Mmabatho. Contact Personnel Ms. Eva Mangole. Tel (018) 388 3614.

Limpopo: Department of Co-Operative Governance, Human Settlements & Traditional Affairs Coghsta, Hensa Towers 20 Rabe Street, Polokwane. Contact Personnel. Ms. Kgoahla Seriana. Tel (015) 284 5564

Free State: Department of Cooperate Governance and Traditional Affairs , Lebohang Building , 3rd Floor Cnr Andrews &
Markgraaf Street, Bloemfontein. Contact Personnel Mr Stanley Manake, Tel (051) 405 4402

Mpumalanga: Department of Cooperative Governance & Traditional Affairs, Building No. 7, Government Boulevard Riverside Park, Nelspruit.Contact Personnel Mr Sam Ngubane. Tel (013) 766 6685

Western Cape: Department of Local Government, 27 Wale Street, Cape Town, 8001. Contact Personnel, Ms Sarieta Mouers. Tel (021) 483 4491 / 4158

Northern Cape: The Department of Cooperative Governance Human Settlement & Traditional Affairs 9 Cecil Sussman Road
Kimberley 8300. Contact Personnel Mrs Mantefeleng Booysen. Tel (053) 807 2855/6