Department of Water Affairs Bursary

Department of Water Affairs Bursary

The mission of department is protect our environment and to strive for sustainable development of South Africa as a country. It is for this reason that the department is making available bursaries to student within related fields. The bursary amount to each successful applicant R40 000.

Department of Water Affairs Bursary

The Department of Water Affairs bursary gets awarded to applicants who want to pursue a career in prescribed fields of study. In order to be awarded this bursary you must be studying towards a qualification in Environment studies, Microbiology, Engineering, Chemistry and other careers that are in line with day to day activities performed by the department.

Water Affairs Bursary Value

This bursary covers the following:

Registration fees

Tuition fees

Residence fees

Meal fees

Book or study material allowance

A personal allowance

Water Affairs Bursaries Available


Analytical Chemistry


Aquatic Science

Civil Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Electrical Engineering – Heavy Currents






Geographical Information Systems


Environmental Science

Law – Environmental

Environmental Management


Water Care

Utilization of Water


Sanitation and Water

Resource Management

Who Can Apply?

Be a South African citizen

Valid South African ID document

Grade 12 level of education

Proficient in English (read, write & speak)

Possess a valid South African ID document

Have proof of acceptance from an Institute of Higher Learning

If studying, provide academic records

Institutions Considered for this bursary

University of Pretoria

University of Kwa-Zulu Natal

University of the Free State

University of Cape Town

University of Stellenbosch

University of the Western Cape

University of Limpopo

Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University

Walter Sisulu University

Tshwane University of Technology

Durban University of Technology

Central University of Technology

Cape Peninsula University of Technology

Vaal University of Technology

University of Venda

University of Witwatersrand

University of Johannesburg

University of Zululand

Rhodes University

University of Fort Hare

North West University

How To Apply?

Forms must be submitted to:

Department of Water Affairs


Learning Company

Private Bag X313



Alternatively, forms can also be e-mailed to: